Our car insurance rates comparison service, brings Connecticut consumers and insurance companies together in one place
Price quotes are available for all Connecticut cities for liability, collision, comprehensive and all other coverage requirements.
What mandatory auto insurance laws exist in the state of Connecticut?
- In the state of Connecticut, drivers must carry minimum liability insurance at all times. The minimum levels are: $20,000 bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident, $40,000 bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident, $10,000 property damage liability maximum for one accident, and combined $20,000/$40,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorists bodily injury
- All Connecticut drivers must submit evidence of valid insurance when applying to register a vehicle. Without an insurance card, you will not be able to register your vehicle.
- The state of Connecticut requires that all driver’s carry proof of insurance coverage at all times.
What is the Minimum Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts):
If you buy automobile insurance in the state of Connecticut, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident
- $40,000 bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident
- $10,000 property damage liability maximum for one accident
- Combined $20,000/$40,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorists bodily injury
What are the Rental Car Insurance Requirements?
In the state of Connecticuit is against the law to operate a motor vehicle without minimum liability, this includes rental cars. If your credit card or your current auto insurance policy does not cove car rentals, the state of Connecticut requires that you carry a copy of the rental agreement when renting a motor vehicle, which specifies the insurance coverage. Typically, insurance offered through the rental company costs an extra $7-$14 a day.
What are the rules pertaining to Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
In the state of Connecticut, combined Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Bodily Injury coverage is required in the amounts of $20,000/$40,000. Uninsured Motorists Bodily Injury must be sold at the same limits as Bodily Injury Liability, but drivers may purchase additional optional coverage up to an amount double the Bodily Injury Liability coverage.
What are the rules pertaining to the exclusion from coverage of a driver living in household?
State law does not require you to list all drivers in the household on your auto insurance policy, but most Connecticut insurance companies will require that you do. If a member of your household is not listed on the policy and he or she is involved in an accident, the insurance company can legally deny the claim.
What are the rules regarding whether a driver has prior insurance? That is, how does state law handle it if a driver has no prior insurance or has let their previous insurance lapse?
In the state of Connecticut, if you allow your insurance to lapse or expire after registering a vehicle with the state, the insurance company is required to notify the DMV. The DMV will then notify the registered owner of the vehicle that he or she needs to provide proof of insurance or face a $200 fine.
What are the rules and guidelines auto insurance companies must follow regarding the use of Personal Credit History in selecting applicants and setting rates?
In the state of Connecticut, Personal Credit History may be used as a rating tool. Insurance companies may also consider driving record, age, area you live in, and type of car to determine rates. Having a good driving record and good credit can mean a lower rate.
Is the state a No Fault or Tort state? What does either mean to the policy owner?
Connecticut is a Tort state. This means that the driver who is at fault in the accident must pay the victims medical expenses and the victim has the ability to file a court claim against the driver found to be responsible for the accident for any additional and related damages including pain and suffering and lost wages.
Check all companies to find best rates.
Let me help you find the best Connecticut car insurance quote.
You will not be hassled to buy.
Connecticut car insurance
Connecticut car insurance laws