There are four ways to provide financial responsibility:
1. Coverage by a motor vehicle liability insurance policy;
2. A cash deposit of $35,000 with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV);
3. A certificate of self-insurance issued by DMV to owners of fleets of more than 25 vehicles; or
4. A surety bond for $35,000 obtained from an insurance company licensed to do business in California.
When your car is in an accident for which you are found legally liable, bodily injury liability covers your liability for injuries to others. Property damage liability covers your liability for damage to someone else’s property.
A policy with bodily injury of $15,000/$30,000 and property damage of $5,000 will pay out as follows:
The maximum limit for one person’s injuries, medical expenses is $15,000 under the bodily injury portion;
If two or more people are injured, the maximum limit for the accident will be $30,000;
The maximum limit for damage to other people’s property (their car, their fence, etc.) is $5,000.
Comprehensive coverage, uninsured motorist, medical payments and collision insurance are not required by law.
Copyright: Car Insurance Inc. 2018
California Car Insurance Laws
The statutory minimum limits of liability insurance in California are as follows:
Having car insurance is not the only way to establish financial responsibility.
Arkansas Car Insurance
Our car insurance quotes comparison service, brings Arkansas motorists and insurance companies together in one place.
We will show you the best car insurance price quotes in Arkansas and the latest Arkansas car insurance laws before you buy. Price quotes are available in all cities for liability, collision, comprehensive and all other coverage requirements.
California’s Law requires every driver and owner of a motor vehicle to be financially responsible for their actions.
Drivers and owners must have the minimum liability insurance prescribed or other approved way to pay for injury or property damage they may cause. Fines are high if you are ticketed for failure to provide proof of insurance.
$15,000 for death or injury to any one person, any one accident.
$30,000 for all persons, any one accident.
$5,000 - any one accident